Toro Y Moi announces new album influenced by Travis Scott and Daft Punk

Watch the video for first track ‘Girl Like You’.

Toro Y Moi has announced a new studio LP titled Boo Boo.

The artist formerly known as Chaz Bundick, now ficially named Chaz Bear, posted a statement alongside the announcement, during which he discusses music as a form therapy and namechecks influences.

“After seven years touring and recording, I found myself becoming self-conscious about my position in life as a ‘famous’ person, or at least my version whatever that is,” he wrote. “During this time personal turmoil, I turned to music as a form therapy, and it helped me cope with the pain that I was feeling.”

Bear also notes how Travis Scott, Daft Punk, Frank Ocean and Oneohtrix Point Never influenced the album’s creation and describes “the feeling space, or lack there” that brings those artists together. “I decided that I wanted to make a pop record with these ideas in mind,” he says. Watch the video for first track ‘Girl Like You’ below.

This is Toro Y Moi’s first studio album following 2015’s What For? Earlier this year, he released a collaborative LP with twin brother jazz duo the Mattson 2, titled Chaz Bundick Meets the Mattson 2.

Boo Boo is out on July 7 Carpark Records. See the artwork and tracklist below.

Toro Y Moi announces new album influenced by Travis Scott and Daft Punk


01. ‘Mirage’
02. ‘No Show’
03. ‘Mona Lisa’
04. ‘Pavement’
05. ‘Don’t Try’
06. ‘Windows’
07. ‘Embarcadero’
08. ‘Girl Like You’
09. ‘You and I’
10. ‘Labyrinth’
11. ‘Inside My Head’
12. ‘W.I.W.W.T.W.’

Read next: The week’s best mixes: Toro Y Moi and a Detroit techno underdog

Meek Mill's Request To Be Moved From Solitary Confinement To General Population Granted

Meek Mill is now out solitary confinement, where he was being held in his cell for 23 hours a day, 7 days a week. The move comes just days after the 30-year old Philadelphia rapper, real name Robert Williams, made the request to be let out his lawyers. He has been moved from Camp Hill state prison […]

Share Button
Read more

Body Of Missing Rapper Bambino Gold Reportedly Found In Alabama

Video After The Jump The mysterious disappearance 29-year-old rapper Edward Reeves, known as Bambino Gold, and his promoter cousin, 30-year-old Kendrick Stokes, known as Skooly Wit Da Tooly, may have reached a tragic ending. Say Cheese Digital reports that Bambino’s body was found in a wooded area in Macon County, Alabama on Friday, November 17. Coroner Hal Bentley pronounced […]

Share Button
Read more

Philthy Rich – Sem God (Album Stream)

Oakland rapper Philthy Rich releases a new album titled “Sem God.” Features include Gucci Mane, Marko Penn, Money Man, Bankroll Fresh, Yhung T.O., Young Dolph, Lil Durk, Mozzy, Eastside Peezy and more. The project is available now on iTunes: Sem God Tracklist: 1. Sem God 2. Around f. Gucci Mane & Yhung T.O. 3. My […]

Share Button
Read more

Jaden Smith – SYRE (Album Stream)

Jaden Smith has released a new album titled “SYRE.” It features A$AP Rocky and Raury. You can stream it up top and grab a copy now on iTunes: SYRE Tracklist 1. “B” 2. “L” 3. “U” 4. “E” 5. “Breakfast” Feat. A$AP Rocky 6. “Hope” 7. “Falcon” Feat. Raury 8. “Ninety” 9. “Lost Boy” 10. “Batman” […]

Share Button
Read more